Poverty Simulation & Passion

As I reflect about the year there is something that keeps coming to the front of my mind.  Last year we heard Liz Murray as she spoke to a group of administrators when I was in CSISD.  The story of Homeless to Harvard was powerful.  The counselor and I had spent the previous two years on another campus.  During those two years we really spent time getting to know kids and their families through home visits.   Last year as a campus we  talked about what we believe about kids.  Understanding kids home lives helps us connect with them at school.   We wanted  a way to get more involved by bringing school to  the community.   During a weekend in April 2016 a few teachers, the counselor and myself decided to spend a weekend in a Poverty Simulation at Mission Waco.  That weekend CHANGED me!!

image

We don’t have many pictures because we didn’t have our phones that weekend.  The weekend was hard! The weekend was eye opening!  There were tears! There was hunger!  We prayed for God to move us from our comfortable!  We prayed for God to break our heart for what breaks HIS! The weekend brought a sense of community we wanted for our school kids! In case you ever go on a Poverty Simulation in Waco I don’t want to ruin your weekend by telling you about it.  You you can read about Mission Waco here.  We came home and had a plan of how to bring school into the community.  Then something crazy happened and we decided at the last minute to move to the Panhandle.   God moved me from my comfortable….exactly how I prayed but in ways I didn’t expect.  My heart breaks for what BREAKS HIS…kids!!

This year I learned about a new community, a new school district, a new school and new grade levels.  I went on a few home visits but not enough!  I didn’t learn about kids home lives from meeting them there.  My reflection about this year really leads me to the year before.  The passion to connect school to kids home lives is still at the core of  what I believe is important in our education system.  Kids want to be engaged where they feel connected and they believe they matter.

Now I must ask myself what am I going to to do!  What is my plan?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

My Widow Life

Trying to find joy and peace without the love of my life

It's a Journey

Serving~Learning~Leading

ipledgeafallegiance

When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

The Principal's Posts

Trending Educational Information and Resources

Cybuhr

An exploration of leadership and personal fulfillment

WebFeedbacks

Let's improve the internet

Principal Joey

If you're not having fun at school, you're not trying hard enough!

Think Inclusive

Inclusive Education Advocacy, News, and Resources

VP stories

Educational stories, thoughts and ideas

